Nocturnal Euphony International

Scent Of Death "Of Martyrs's Agony And Hate" album review

Sunday, June 16, 2013

Kenny Bass - Metal Unto The Masses

The metal underground is so diverse and vast that I could start a different blog just for the underground bands and I would be overwhelmed by the number of bands I would discovery! I could dedicate the rest of my life to the underground and I don't believe that I would be able to discovery every band in the scene. I am a huge fan of the underground scene and in my opinion some of the best music available comes from there and from some of the most surprising places on the planet. Underground bands are completely dedicated to their music and want to put out material that is not tainted by the record industry...and they do a damn good job of that! These bands put their blood, sweat, and tear and all they have into putting out pure metal!

A few days ago, I got a message from band from Ourense, Spain about doing a review of their new album, "Of Martyrs's Agony And Hate". They are the first band to contact me first and I am honored and pleased to be doing this review! I know present to you...Scent Of Death!!!
After seven years of silence from Scent Of Death, they released their sophomore album "Of Martyrs's Agony And Hate" through Pathologically Explicit Recordings. This album is a display of blasphemy, darkness, brutality, and technical musicianship at its best! Prepare yourself for 39:20 of a full on assault of blast beats, technical solos, brutal riffs, and guttural vocal. And for those of you that think death metal is just noise and is talentless, track 8 will surely show you how wrong you are! It takes talent, practice, and dedication to make this kind of music and Scent Of Death show off all their hours of hard work with this beautifully brutal album!

"Of Martyrs's Agony And Hate" track listing:
  1. Awakening Of The Liar
  2. The Enemy Of My Enemy
  3. Ego Te Provoco
  4. Feeling The Fear
  5. A Simple Twist Of Fate
  6. Man Kills God Too
  7. The Father's Sin
  8. The Sleeper Must Awake (Instrumental)
  9. Sear Me In A Sea Of Snakes
 I always listen to the album as I am typing up my review for it and "Of Martyrs's Agony And Hate" is an album that I can not get enough of and it will surely be in constant rotation of my musical arsenal! If you are a fan of Behemoth, Immolation, Nile, and Morbid Angel, Scent Of Death is without a doubt a band noteworthy of your time and attention. I have said for years that most of the best music, mainstream and underground, comes from Europe and Scent Of Death set that statement in stone with their 2013 release "Of Martyrs's Agony And Hate". Metal heads and the people of Spain should be proud to have Scent Of Death representing them in the music world.

Here is the video for the opening track "Awakening Of The Liar". This song only gives you a small dose of what Scent Of Death have in store for you!
Scent Of Death is:
  • Sergio M. Afonso - Vocals
  • Jorge F. Taboada - Lead Guitar
  • Bernado E. Tesouro - Guitar
  • Carlos F. Carballo - Bass
  • Rolando Barros - Drums
I want to thank Jorge Taboada for reaching out to me and giving me the chance to do this review for Scent Of Death! Keep up the great work guys and I can't wait to hear more music from you in the future.
For more info visit the following site:


You need to be a member of Nocturnal Euphony International to add comments!

Join Nocturnal Euphony International




\m/ We want to thank these great companies, media and places for their support! \m/ 


Nocturnal Euphony International Metal Music Fan Site

Promote Your Page Too



Domain Certified Secure

© 2017   Created by Jason and Crystal.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service